Crossbow Mishaps and Mistakes

Discussion in 'Recent Articles' started by urban legend, Jan 2, 2016.

1. urban legend

urban legend Administrator Staff Member

2. Gunnar

Gunnar Member

I am new to all things archery and crossbows. Thanks for the safety tips. I didn't know checking your nock was so I portant.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

JohnRoland, glassman_48 and 1eyedbob like this.
  3. Tim50

Tim50 Well-Known Member

If your nock is cracked it could cause a misfire. I like metal nocks for that reason. Hunt safe!

glassman_48, 1eyedbob and Old Summit like this.
  4. Old Summit

Old Summit Senior Member

x2,I also like aluminum nocks, they are the best, hands down.

glassman_48 likes this.
  5. Old Vet

Old Vet Active Member

Thanks for sharing this Urban. Understanding and remembering these important points is critical for folks new to crossbows and an excellent reminder even for those with years of experience. A crossbow releases a tremendous amount of stored energy rapidly. A failure is an up close and personal experience that can kill or maim the shooter or bystanders. Understanding your bow and performing routine inspections of both the bow, arrows, and accessories is essential to both safety and enjoyment.

Develop a pattern in practice sessions that will lead to a habit of repition in the loading/firing sequence that includes subconscious double checks. Never load or fire a crossbow while distracted or under the influence of anything that will dull your thought process. Double check your double checks when reloading in a hunting situation.