Maintenance Requirement for Compounds

Discussion in 'General Crossbow Discussion' started by leejacstu, Dec 11, 2010.

1. leejacstu

leejacstu New Member

I am new to crossbows, but I used to hunt with compound bows. I am not into archery, but I love the extended hunting season that a crossbow will provide. I will certainly practice enough to ensure a clean kill vice wounding animals, but I'm not into countless hours on the archery range so I am looking at crossbows. I have narrowed my search to the excalibur equinox and the tenpoint lazer hp.

I keep hearing that compound crossbows require more maintenance, tuning, timing issues, etc. How maintenance intensive are they? If I go with the tenpoint, how often will it need to be in the shop? 1-2-3 year maintenance schedule? Are they prone to messing and interrupting my hunting season?

The main thing I don't like about the excalibur is the width, although I hunt from a climber so it won't be a huge disadvantage. If the compounds are maintenance intensive, I will probably go with the excalibur. Your opinions and advice would be appreciated.

2. urban legend

urban legend Administrator Staff Member