• Please log in to reply

#1 Patriot

Patriot

• Members
  • 190 posts
  • LocationBexar County

Posted 29 April 2011 - 12:01 PM

Good Afternoon Everyone,

I think I'm in the right spot now ... so Excuse any mistakes(Posted same sugject but not in the right section).I'm New to this forum ... Not that an be used as an excuse.

I'm new to Horizontal Bow Shooting ... Hopefully you don't mind a little Humor . I use to make arrows for my compound and have a couple of questions:
1. Carbon Arrow Vs Aluminum
2. Taking a "Regular Length" arrow and cutting it to crossbow length with inserts & moon nocks. I have a whole bunch of Easton XX75 2219's... Just so the total weight is @ 425 Gr Minimum.

Take Care & God Bless

#2 Jack Pine

Jack Pine

Crossbow Nut

• Members
  • 1,257 posts
  • LocationNorthern MI

Posted 29 April 2011 - 01:32 PM

Good Afternoon Everyone,

I think I'm in the right spot now ... so Excuse any mistakes(Posted same sugject but not in the right section).I'm New to this forum ... Not that an be used as an excuse.

I'm new to Horizontal Bow Shooting ... Hopefully you don't mind a little Humor . I use to make arrows for my compound and have a couple of questions:
2. Taking a "Regular Length" arrow and cutting it to crossbow length with inserts & moon nocks. I have a whole bunch of Easton XX75 2219's... Just so the total weight is @ 425 Gr Minimum.

Take Care & God Bless

Patriot, welcome to the forum. Alum V Carbon is a matter of choice, they do the same thing, but carbon may be a little more efficient at it, but to me the difference in the price isn't worth it IMO. I was like you, had a bunch of aluminum, so made my own bolts. Use them up and then if you want to try carbon, go ahead. Carbon doesn't bend but it's expensive, makes me cringe every time I lose or damage one, but if you're new, go with the aluminum first till you get your feet wet. It's a matter of choice to me, some think it's more than that. The deer certainly don't care.

Jack ><>