View New Content Mark all as read |  

Aim point or scope with crosshairs

• Please log in to reply

#1 NotaVegetarian

NotaVegetarian

• Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 09 June 2011 - 08:55 PM

I just put an aim point red dot site on a new weapon. I have never used this type of site before and am having a hard time getting used to it. Thinking of pulling it and going back to a scope with crosshairs. Anybody else have this issue?

Edited by NotaVegetarian, 09 June 2011 - 08:56 PM.

#2 Cossack

Cossack

Incurable Tinkerer

• Members
  • 3,516 posts
  • LocationNo MN

Posted 10 June 2011 - 07:36 AM

I just put an aim point red dot site on a new weapon. I have never used this type of site before and am having a hard time getting used to it. Thinking of pulling it and going back to a scope with crosshairs. Anybody else have this issue?

Yes. Tried several kinds and brands on crossbows, far too limited in range/precision for accurate shooting. Now have scopes on all my bows. BTW, I do use red dots on several 22 cal handguns for off hand target shooting out to about 20 yards.

#3 Guide Girl

Guide Girl

Obsessed Huntress

• Members
  • 5,633 posts
  • LocationTexas

Posted 10 June 2011 - 03:16 PM

Single dot scopes are great. Triple dots-throw it in the trash and start over, in my opinion. Crosshairs are always good especially combined with the new fandangled illuminated crosshairs. THose have it all for daylight, low light and no light. We've come a long way since peep & pin.

#4 peter nap

peter nap

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 10 June 2011 - 11:06 PM

I tried Red Dots and first, I couldn't get used to them and second, they all jarred loose eventually and developed a floating zero.

I started using a Leupold Shotgun/Muzzle loader scope with a single crosshair and two dots.

I love it after several thousand shots and three seasons. I still haven't managed to destroy it and if I do....I just send it back to Leupold.