View New Content Mark all as read |  

Recurve vs Compound Crossbow

• Please log in to reply

#1 PaprHead

PaprHead

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 August 2011 - 09:58 PM

Hello everyone, another newbie here so I am trying to understand differences on crossbows. If a recurve and compound crossbow were compared with the same draw weight and powerstroke would the speeds be basically the same. If not what makes the difference between the bow types. Also, for the same draw weight / powerstroke bows would the recurve or compound tend to be less noisy, understanding that crossbows typically aren't quite.

Thanks for all feedback!!!

Edited by PaprHead, 04 August 2011 - 09:59 PM.

#2 Cossack

Cossack

Incurable Tinkerer

• Members
  • 3,567 posts
  • LocationNo MN

Posted 04 August 2011 - 10:38 PM

Hello everyone, another newbie here so I am trying to understand differences on crossbows. If a recurve and compound crossbow were compared with the same draw weight and powerstroke would the speeds be basically the same. If not what makes the difference between the bow types. Also, for the same draw weight / powerstroke bows would the recurve or compound tend to be less noisy, understanding that crossbows typically aren't quite.

Thanks for all feedback!!!