Bolt size

• Please log in to reply

#1 Pan

Pan

• Members
  • 26 posts
  • LocationTexas

Posted 16 January 2012 - 09:22 AM

I also have three bolts for the Horton EXP I am using. The bolts are 20" long 2219's. This makes the tip of the broadhead even with the front end of the stirrip. Remember as I ask, I am just learning at this but isn't that a bit long? And possibly a smaller diamater shaft?
Shouldn't the base of the broadhead sit between the limbs tucked in as close to the body of the X-bow as you can and still have clearance?
I hunted with vertical compound bows for years, (it's been awhile) and still have several 2219 shafts, fletchings and tips I can use to make bolts with if this is the right size for the EXP but it seems to me they would fly flatter, faster and possibly be a bit more accurate if they were about 3 or 4 inches shorter and with a bit smaller diameter.
Seems to me any knock down power that may be lost because the bolts would be a bit lighter would be off set by a bit better penetration.
If I am wrong in my way of thinking please let me know. I don't want to begin my X-bow learning process by starting out going in the wrong direction.

Edited by Pan, 16 January 2012 - 09:32 AM.

#2 Stalker

Stalker

• Members
  • 2,639 posts
  • LocationLAWRENCEVILLE GA

Posted 16 January 2012 - 06:08 PM

You have the right size bolts.The lighter the bolt the less penetration you will have.A shorter bolt could possibly not weigh enough and cause a semi dryfire situation.Your bow has a minimum bolt weight.If you shoot anything lighter than that in will damage the bow.My Horton minimum weight is around 405 grains or so Ive been told.Call Horton and get the minimum weight for your model.A smaller diameter might not ride on the rail correctly and be dangerous.Im no expert but this is what I believe to be correct.Im sure others will chime in that have more experience than me.Just be careful.

#3 dropzone

dropzone

• Members
  • 1,858 posts
  • LocationKentucky