• Please log in to reply

#1 Highlander

Highlander

I Didn't Do It.

• Members
  • 4,045 posts
  • LocationHighland, Maryland

Posted 16 January 2012 - 12:53 PM

I assume this topic has been brought up before. I am a newbie and didn't follow the directions correctly, even after reading through the directions several times. No excuse on my part. However, I did not realize until after my injury how much damage can happen to one's thumb if you are not careful and don't follow the directions. As a compound bow hunter, I have been stung by the string many times. That was it, just a red whelp. However with a crossbow, the injury that can occur is much more damaging.

I for one feel that perhaps a sticky for newbies at the top may help prevent damages to hobbyists like myself, especially children. At least some emphasis the dangers :)

Just a rant, I needed to get off my chest. I have since read where hobbyists are getting hurt in stores while trying out crossbows for the first time before buying them supposedly under proper supervision. I just don't feel there is enough awareness presented by the professional elite. ;)

The old timers, including my friends, simply state "I'll bet you won't do that again." There right. :lol:

Please keep in mind some of us a are bit slower to learn than others. Help keep us stupid ones safer if possible.

Perhaps a warning like, "Keep your thumb and fingers out of the way of the strings, or it can cut them off".

Edited by HighlandHunter, 16 January 2012 - 12:59 PM.

#2 HDMann292

HDMann292

Advanced Member

• Members
  • 613 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee ,Wi.

Posted 16 January 2012 - 02:05 PM

I thought ALL Crossbows do have stickers on the flight rail that give the shooter "THE WARNING"