Sunflowers for deer food

• Please log in to reply

#1 The Juice

The Juice

• Members
  • 170 posts
  • LocationFreeland, MI

Posted 22 August 2012 - 03:17 AM

Has anyone planted sunflowers as a food plot feed source? How much luck have you had? When did you plant and how long did it take for the sunflowers to seed out/mature?

#2 Fieldtip

Fieldtip

• Members
  • 416 posts
  • LocationS.E. Michigan

Posted 22 August 2012 - 10:55 PM

I have been planting sun flowers for a few years now. I grow the Mammoth ones (10'-12'). I use them more to create a fencerow (dividing up my food plot into smaller sections) than for food. I have watched deer eating on the giant leaves, the birds generally get the seeds as they ripen. The most interesting thing I've found is that I get several buck rubs on the stalks which are about an inch and a half thick every year.
  • rampage likes this

#3 ridgehunter

ridgehunter

• Members
  • 1,942 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan

Posted 22 August 2012 - 11:08 PM

A new hunting friend claims that he successfully uses sunflower seeds to attract deer every year. We will see :unknw:

#4 MLN1963

MLN1963

• Members
  • 130 posts
  • LocationSW OK

Posted 23 August 2012 - 03:28 AM

A new hunting friend claims that he successfully uses sunflower seeds to attract deer every year. We will see :unknw:

Like bird seed sunflower seeds or salted ones humans eat?

#5 buckskins

buckskins

• Members
  • 98 posts
  • LocationCentral Illinois

Posted 23 August 2012 - 05:37 AM