Vortex bow vs. Ibex vs. Phoenix package

vortex ibex value cost

• Please log in to reply

#1 Mtburr

Mtburr

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 07 October 2012 - 11:42 AM

I'm fairly new to the 'Nation but really appreciate all the valuable and respectful discussion in these forums.

I have been using an old, borrowed Horton Thunderbolt (150 lb compound with iron sights), and I've just put together enough cash to buy my first xbow. I'm planning to hit Cabela's tomorrow to test out several bows. But in advance of that, I've already narrowed my interest to several options, two of which are Excaliburs. In fact I'm fairly sure I'll get an Excal, but I face a novice's dilemma: Package vs. Bow Only.

I already own some Thunderhead 125 gr broadheads and a couple of Carbon Express 20" arrows, plus a cocking string, wax, and rail lube. In other words, I'm all set to immediately start using a bare bow, such as the 200-lb Vortex. But I know that eventually I'll want a scope, a quiver, and more arrows, which are packaged with the 175-lb Ibex. I can't afford the Vortex Lite Stuff package, so I'd be getting just the bow with the standard fiber optic sight. At Black Bear, the basic Vortex is $15 more than the Ibex package -- if you count the $35 cost of adding dissipator bars to the Ibex, which I would do immediately. (I'm also sort of considering the 175-lb Phoenix which has an aluminum frame and does NOT have the thumbhole stock. But to keep the question simpler I'll stick to comparing the Vortex bow and the Ibex package)

So, the main difference in these bows, as far as I can tell, are that the Ibex has a composite mainframe (rail) while the Vortex has aluminum, and the Vortex has a 25-lb greater draw weight.