Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
665 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I have been blessed and am getting my first cross bow this week, I have a ton of questions

Is there a web site that break it down Like crossbow for dummies?

I have been shooting the regular bow for 20+ years, but I want to learn as much as i can about the do and dont's of the crossbow

·
342 Posts
Well, get busy asking...there are a ton of people here that will help you out...myself included. This is the perfect site for learning!:)

·
665 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
here a few questions

Can you use custom made strings on crossbow?

Can you use wraps?

I read about a arrow clip? what is it?

Is there any pro's or cons over expandable broadhead's ?

Can trigger work be done on a crossbow?

With the power coming out of a crossbow, will smaller vanes be ok?
I will ask more as I think

thanks

Rich

·
224 Posts
Can you use custom made strings on crossbow?

yes...there are a few guys that make them...
some sell them. I got mine from 'boo'

Can you use wraps?

yes

I read about a arrow clip? what is it?

don't know

Is there any pro's or cons over expandable broadhead's ?

one or two of each :)
fly like field tips, much bigger cutting surfaces, no planing, great
in windy conditions

don't always open, not as strong, lower penetration. open in flight.
double banding required at higher speeds.

Can trigger work be done on a crossbow?

sure...if you know exactly what you're doing. Some here do it.
Plan on it invalidating any warranty you get on a new purchase.
You may want to buy one that doesn't need trigger work in the first place ?

With the power coming out of a crossbow, will smaller vanes be ok?

many (most?) here like 2" blazers.

thanks

YW :)

·
665 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks

The arrow clip I read about was in a ad for limb savers it came with a arrow clip silencer ?

So I was just wondering what it was?