Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone having a similar issue? 4th shot, the string broke on my 10 point RS 470. The 1st thing I did was to make sure I wasn't injured. The rail had been lubed. Not sure what went wrong. Such a powerfull bow, I think I'm lucky not to be hurt. Any help would be appreciated. New to crossbows, my eyesight is failing and made it the ethical choice. I love my Matthews, but just not confident any longer past 25 yards. Decided to make the switch and now this. Paid $3000 for my forever bow. Pretty upset & confused!
Andy

·
Registered
5,421 Posts
The RS400 Vapor is getting great reviews but xbows will have failures regardless of brand. Glad to hear that you were not hurt. I've been shooting the TenPoint RDX platform for 5 years and the Nitro X and XRT that have the same front end design. No issues in thousands of shots and hundreds of hunts so far.

Maybe we can get some more detail on this?

How many shots have you made prior to this happening? Just 3 total?

Has the bow ever been dry fired?

Where did the string break? Was it on the end or in the middle?

Tell us what the arrow did when this happened.

You mentioned that the rail was lubed. What did you use to lube it?

How have the string and cables been treated?

·
Premium Member
1,254 Posts
Also, are you 100% sure you did not cock it on the Anti-Dry Fire Pin?
If the Safety did not come on after cocking, you may not have cocked it properly.
For sure call TenPoint.
They will help you out.

Reactions: TX_RDXguy

·
Registered
5,421 Posts
Also, are you 100% sure you did not cock it on the Anti-Dry Fire Pin?
If the Safety did not come on after cocking, you may not have cocked it properly.
For sure call TenPoint.
They will help you out.
Doesn't sound like Andy did based on his description. He said it happened on the 4th shot and if it were hung on the DFI, It wouldn't have fired.