Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still relatively new to crossbows and have been shooting for about a year. I have a KI Ripper 415 with a Hawke XB30 1-6x32, and I’m using the KI crank cocker. My bear stand is setup for a 35 yard shot and this is the distance I’ve mainly been practicing at. I have 6 BE Zombie Slayers built by South Shore for my hunting arrows. With field points I am shooting all six at about 1” - 1.25”. I tried Ramcat Hydroshock 100 grain and my groups were over 5”. I recently switched to 100 gr EVO-X center punch and got my groups to about 2”. My arrows are 22” long, FOC is 19.5%, and arrows have 2” Blazers. None of my broadheads group where field points do. I’m not so worried about shooting with my field points (would be nice though!), but I want to tighten my groups. I realize practice will help, but I’m looking for any other tips. Sorry for the long post, just trying to give all the info I can.

·
Registered
184 Posts
I'm no expert at all, but if your South Shore made arrows are shooting 5" at 35 yards I'd be giving South Shore a call. Something ain't right. Also don't see how a 22" arrow and a 100gr head has 19.5% FOC

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
I’m not so worried about shooting with my field points (would be nice though!), but I want to tighten my groups. I realize practice will help, but I’m looking for any other tips. Sorry for the long post, just trying to give all the info I can.
You may want to get a spin tester from Pine Archery. Your broadheads may not be perfectly aligned with the center line of the arrow. This can create a little wobble down range.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Spitfires by NAP!

Reactions: dynamo61

·
Premium Member
1,267 Posts