Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to crossbow hunting since having shoulder issues. Bought new xbow about a month ago. Set up on a picnic table and started shooting. I'm getting maybe 2 shots at best in a general group and have one shot that will be 8 to 10 inches off to one side or the other. Used same arrow and swapped them out. I've notice the ds sticker on the arrow is almost faded out from I guess friction when shooting. I wasn't sure if that is normal or the culprit. I'm using the hawk scope that came with xbow. Anyone have any advice on grouping?

·
Registered
6,640 Posts
What's your timing look like ? Look at the holes on the cams in relevance to the inside of the limbs on each side, they should be the same distance.

·
Registered
6,640 Posts
When you cock the bow, make sure you are pulling each side or each handle evenly.

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
Could be a few things. Cams out of sync, limbs are not equalized, scope is loose, arrows are not the same, other?

·
Registered
10,860 Posts
Your ATA should be on 16.5" from the center of axle to center of axle. Your cam timing holes should be approx 3/4" each from the limbs on each side to the edge of each hole.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Alot of great advice above....betting its cocking related. One more thing to check is to make sure when you load your arrow MAKE SURE THE FRONT OF THE ARROW IS ACTUALLY TOUCHING/ RESTING ON THE FRONT OF THE BARREL AFTER THE NOCK LOCKS ONTO THE STRING. I noticed when I first got my deathstalker I was having consistency issues, and this was the cause. I wasnt sliding my arrow STRAIGHT DOWN THE BARREL and When my nock snapped onto the string it induced torque causing the front of my arrow to float up off the barrel...maybe only a credit cards thickness...but it made a huge difference Hope this helps.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #14