Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im brand new to this forum and this is my first attempt to post so I apologize in advance if I do something wrong. In the next week or so I will be buying a higher end xbow. In the $2000 range or less but no real budget as long as I get something for the extra money. Im a very experienced deer hunter with a rifle but new to bowhunting. I take my hunting very serious and I want to do all in my power not to wound or not recover a buck. I will limit my shots to 20 or 30 yards so I do not need any advise on distances greater than that. I will always have a very solid rest or I will not shoot. My biggest concern is the deer "ducking" the arrow. I hope at that range that extra speed will take care of most of that. I also am wanting an accurate and quiet bow for the very same reasons.
I have done some research but probably not enough and Im running out of time. Im pretty certain I will buy the Mission Sub-1 XR. I shot it in the shop at 20 yards and I put 5 in the same 1" spot. I had tried shooting an older bow that wasnt nearly that accurate and was wondering if 1" accuracy was attainable with an xbow. I guess at this late date im hoping that yall will tell me ive made a good choice so i can go buy with confidence. However, I want your honest opinions so please tell me if there are better choices out there and hopefully why.

·
Registered
1,937 Posts
Here is my $.02...

Don't worry about deer ducking the arrow at 20-30 yards. NBD
Most all crossbows are loud... to a degree.
Buy what you like and fits you and your style. The Mission is fine... as are Scorpyd's, Ten Points, Ravin's etc. I would take a hard look at the KI Swat XP also.
User friendly / ability to change strings and cables is, IMO, rather important.

·
Registered
47 Posts