Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone:

I've just joined this forum and am new to archery and crossbows. I live in Central IL and got my son and I crossbows for Christmas, mostly for deer hunting. He's 11 and desperately wants to be a deer hunter. I'm new to hunting but not to firearms. We went out for the '17 gun season, but came back empty handed. Saw some does, but they were out of range. Still learned a lot though. Going to switch spots and cut in a ground blind for the '18 archery season.

Decided to jump in to horizontal bows to expand our season since it's all legal now in IL. I've got a Killer Instinct 370 FT and he's got a KI350. We've only shot them at an indoor range so far, but I'm hoping to pickup some more bolts, field points for target shooting, and then obviously some broadheads once we're good and ready.

I'd love to hear any recommendations anyone has on the bolts/field points/broadheads. After we assembled them, we shot the OEM bolts in the store for an several rounds each and I was very impressed with them. We were at an indoor range on a stand, but they were holding like a 1.5" group at 20 yards, which was as far back as we can get due to space limitations. Very much looking forward to warmer temps and getting out and using these things to get practiced up.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,528 Posts
Welcome aboard random guy. I would go with the best arrows you can afford. I purchased my Spynal Tapps from Jerry at Southshore Archery and Tapp-Nation.com. He is on this forum and goes by arrowguru. He will not lead you astray and definitely knows arrows and what will work best for you. So get you the best arrows you can afford and practice, practice, practice. I too hunted central Illinois for several years as I lived in Champaign County. Your in a good place providing you have land to hunt. I did most of mine on public land and always had good success. Welcome aboard!

Reactions: Stalker

·