Crossbow Nation banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In order to get to the back of my property and food plots back there I have to cross a stream. In it's normal state it is 3 " deep. But I have been fighting the beavers there for about twenty years. Roughly the beaver dam fills a pretty big swamp and sometimes that is good for getting the big bucks closer to my stands. But the crossing gets to be a couple of feet deep and right now it is almost over my foot bridge and getting close to where I can't get a tractor or ATV across.

When I was younger I would take a j hook pole thing I welded up and pull out a hole in the dam periodically. Every month. Then every two weeks then they rebuilt it in a day with Flying buttress support. After that I put a hole in it and sunk two or three different 6" by 10 foot long pipes in it. sort of a rudimentary clemson bypass. After that they moved to the dam upstream of my babbling brook crossing for about 7 glorious years.

The last few years they decided to move 40 yards downstream of the original dam to an older dam spot. I have been letting it go, telling myself that it forces the bigger bucks out into the open more. When really it is a lot of work putting a hole in that dam. But now I have to do something. I am really close to not getting equipment across the stream/ lake now.

The dam is in the middle of 75 yards of really soft (maybe floating) bog all around the dam. I can get an ATV in but I have never had much luck pulling the dams out with that. I don't think I can't get a tractor or backhoe in without getting it stuck or buried. I think taking something tracked in there like a mini skid steer would also get stuck.

I left my j hook pole by the other dam which is now under water. So I am going to have to weld up a new version of that thing.

Just wondering if anyone has any tips or tools they have used to manage a beaver dam. I won one battle but they are winning the war.

·