Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So in a raffle I won the above mentioned crossbow, or the choice of $325. I love the thought of a back-up bow. And having a bow like a Barnett, to just screw around with in terms of experimentation with different broadheads/ arrow comb’s and such. I currently shoot a Wicked Ridge Invader X4 and like it a lot. I have no experience with Barnett, anyone with reviews or experience with this bow? What do you guys like, dislike, arrows and broadheads choices? Or should I just take the money and run? Anything helps! Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,462 Posts
I had the Barnett Whitetail Hunter STR Pro which I returned after a couple of days.
1)To remove the limbs and limb rockers to apply lithium grease to prevent squeaks
when cocking and shooting, the limb bolts had to be removed and then carefully
pry out the limbs and limb rockers. The coating or dipping removed the wee bit of
clearance that one normally has. Normally once the string and cables are off, the
limb bolts are only backed off a wee bit and the limbs will slide out.
2)the picatinny rail had to be shimmed as it was tilted down, there fore the scope ran
out of verticle adjustment.
3)I use the crank cocking device in my Barnett crossbows. The bushing in the stock is
too narrow and over size making for a sloppy fit. Using the crank on the right hand side,
I could not replace the cover on the left side due to too much machining.
4)the safety ratchet system would not fit due to the corners in the stock being rounded
due to the coating or dipping.

I can not comment on the scope because I am basically a target shooter and require a
higher power scope with a parallax adjustment for various shooting distances.

With the crossbow in the uncocked position, look from one cam to the other along the
bow string. Most crossbows, the bow string will hump up as it crosses the rail-stock. Adding