Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening,

I’m new to the world of crossbows. I’m currently training for my hunters license test and target practicing. I bought an Excalibur Matrix 355 from a friend of mine. I’ve taken a handful of shots with the couple of bolts that came with the bow.

I bought new bolts with field points and they are getting lodged deep into the Yellow Jacket target that I’m using. 4 of the 6 bolts lost the entire front end when I was pulling them out of the target.

Why is this happening?
FAB7B221-D89D-4C75-9114-72BEC46BC743.png
2915AE54-FB1F-4A2C-AE46-5B602074A2D5.jpeg
73FD52D3-8B9B-4D69-B4A1-49E36E31B7A6.jpeg
D5BF616C-675A-4324-A72C-4D98749984B8.jpeg

·
Premium Member
1,099 Posts
Wow, they do not look as though they are buried very deep into the target bag so it may be an arrow issue.
Did you make sure the field points were threaded on tightly each time before shooting?
Is the whole insert coming out or just the field point?
The inserts may not have been glued in properly, I am guessing.
Also, check the arrows for splinters by bending them before each shot.
Welcome, BTW.
I'm sure many others with much more experience than me will chime in soon enough.
Good luck!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wow, they do not look as though they are buried very deep into the target bag so it may be an arrow issue.
Did you make sure the field points were threaded on tightly each time before shooting?
Welcome, BTW.
I'm sure many others with much more experience than me will chime in soon enough.
Good luck!
Welcome, BTW.
Good luck!
The field points were tightened before I sent them. The entire insert is being pulled out. It’s also extremely difficult pulling out the bolts. I’m athletic and it was laborious.

·
11,287 Posts