Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll just start out by saying that this is my 1st year of Stickin' Slimeys with my Cross bow, So I'm no expert and not claiming to be
Been Stickin them for 30 years with a Vert. off docks, shore, and a canoe...Till I shot a hole in the bottom of it
I started out thinking I'd use my BCX and my Muskie rod and reel But at over 300 fps and 185# draw weight it was like using a Howitzer to shoot a Chipmunk I spent more time digging my fishbolt out of the bottom than anything else
I still shoot it off the docks for longer range fish for fun,
In the Boat I shoot an MK 150 A3 C-C ( Cali-Camo) It's under 100 bux and is bomb proof...
From the beginning, this has been interesting!!
Building my 1st fishbolt, Some of the factory Fishbolts are too small to defeat the A.D.F. on higher end bows! Jack Pine walked me trough building one that worked and it was super cheap and really easy to do! Start out with a straight DRIVEWAY MARKER $2.99 at lowes Spend a little time to find a really straight one, Next cut the nock section off of a bent,wrecked 2219 Ali arrow (6-7") just enough to clear the A.R.S. Cut the driveway marker to length mines about 24" I found a Cajun slip/glue on Warhead clearance for 3.99, Nock for .50 and a nut off the switch from a crockpot....Little epoxy and some sanding to grt the Warhead to fit super snug and I have a Killer fishbolt!

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just remember to super glue the machine screw when turning it in I think it was 3/32 or 1/8th inch
You want to be sure the bolt will clear the stirrup so your retrieval line won't tangle in it
The above post shows a$20.00 AMS Fishbolt I bought VS. the SpeJack $6.50 HARPOON (BCX won't shoot the AMS )

I just want to say that I decided to post a cross bow fishing thread here because I read a lot of the discussions on how Vert. snobs treat us Xbow guys like pond scum especially Bow fishing people

·