Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am brand new to crossbow shooting. I purchased an Equinox a couple months ago. I have started
shooting it, but the shots are very erratic. One will be on target and the next won’t even be on paper. I videoed a shot to see what was happening and I noticed that the arrow is coming out sideways. Any ideas on to why this is happening? My bow has a 225 draw weight and I am shooting a 22 in, 13.8 GPI bolt with a 100 grain tip. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,823 Posts
You better talk to the guy who sold it to you.

·
2,880 Posts
Check the limbs for splinters. The only way I’ve seen a recurve crossbow have issues like the is when the tiller is way off. Check the measurements from the limb to the string just off each side of the riser. Or hold a square on the barrel and see if the string is square.

·
Registered
1,852 Posts
Notify the brand support for help

·
Registered
10,842 Posts
Sounds like a bad limb to me. Contact Excalibur and see what they say about it. Can you take a pic of it cocked and post it here?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
You better talk to the guy who sold it to you.
I have spoken to them and they had nothing wrong with it.
Check the limbs for splinters. The only way I’ve seen a recurve crossbow have issues like the is when the tiller is way off. Check the measurements from the limb to the string just off each side of the riser. Or hold a square on the barrel and see if the string is square.
Layman’s term? Lol. As I said, I’m new to this

·
Registered
13,334 Posts
Are you shooting off a rest or free-arming it? Try shooting the same arrow (the one that hits the target) each time and see if POI changes like you are saying it does. You didn't mention the kind and weight of the arrows youre shooting.

·
Registered
1,852 Posts
I have spoken to them and they had nothing wrong with it.

Layman’s term? Lol. As I said, I’m new to this