Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hopefully someone can answer this.
Shooting my 420 deathstalker, shot great at 20, 40, 60 yards shooting off Caldwell lead sled at 11/2" orange dots hitting 95% of the time. Shooting 1 spynal tapp arrow all the time. Go out a week later to shoot, and shoot 20, 40, 60 yards again with same set-up and shoot 3" low at 20 40 60 yards.My question is, does the sunlight and different shadows have something to do with how your eye picks up the target threw the scope. If not why does this happen?

·
Registered
10,426 Posts
Check all your screws and make certain they are all tight. It could be a defective scope but I bet you have a loose screw causing it. Also check and make sure your ATA is correct and your timing holes are approx 13/16" to the center of the holes.

·
Premium Member
1,088 Posts
Not sure if this will help as I am kinda new to xbows.
I know it affects target shooting with handgun and rifle setups.
Air temp and humidity may affect your xbow shooting repeatabilty as well.

I leave my gear outside for at least 30 minutes prior to shooting.
I would guess that a xbow, strings and scopes are affected by drastic temperature and humidity changes, such as going from a 70*F air conditioned room to 95*F outdoors.
I always take 2-3 practice shots first and many times, have to adjust a few clicks L-R/UP-DOWN regardless of which xbow I am shooting.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Not sure if this will help as I am kinda new to xbows.
I know it affects target shooting with handgun and rifle setups.
Air temp and humidity may affect your xbow shooting repeatabilty as well.

I leave my gear outside for at least 30 minutes prior to shooting.
I would guess that a xbow, strings and scopes are affected by drastic temperature and humidity changes, such as going from a 70*F air conditioned room to 95*F outdoors.