Crossbow Nation banner
1 - 20 of 113 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would love some advice. I am interested in one of these crossbows. I know the 420 td is on a larger platform. The 400 will be a little smaller. I’m wondering if the extra size is worth 20 FPS more. Does anyone have experience with these models? Thanks so much for the help.

·
Premium Member
Excalibur Assassin 400TD
973 Posts
I have no experience with the Assassin 420.
I have had my Assassin 400TD for 16 months. I love how the 400TD fits me like a glove (I'm 5' 8" tall). The Micro platform is narrow and short, and it feels like "The Carbine of crossbows"
As with all crossbows they are a work in progress.
They require a certain amount of maintenance, and a person needs to have a certain skill set in order to shoot crossbows.
The warrantee is fantastic (fast friendly service)
I have shot 1,500 arrows out of my 400TD, all above 450 grains
I have replaced...
1 set of limbs
1 scope
3 cocking ropes
9 re-servings
1 set of string bumpers (R.E,D.S.)
I love my 400TD and believe in the Micro platform.
I expect this Assassin 400TD will give me a lifetime of service.
(Of course, I'm 66 years young)

·
5,270 Posts
I don’t have experience with those models, but I think the main advantage of the Matrix size bows over the Micro is the lower draw weight, easier to rope cock for the same or better performance. With the Assassins, you are going to be cranking, so the biggest advantage is sort of moot.

·
5,270 Posts
I have read about more issues with the micro limbs. The matrix limbs will be under less stress...still producing a higher speed, at the cost of being 5" wider. I am 6'5" tall...so the larger size may not be a huge deal breaker for me.