Crossbow Nation banner

Excalibur Micro Suppressor vs. TenPoint Eclipse RCX + Video

Jump to Latest

How do the Excalibur Micro Suppressor and TenPoint Eclipse RCX stack up against each other? We put both of these crossbows to the test.

Over the course of the summer I had the opportunity to test out the Excalibur Micro Suppressor and TenPoint Eclipse RCX. We've already put review videos together for each of those crossbows, so I figured it would be fun to do a head-to-head comparison.

Keep in mind that I am fairly new to the world of crossbows. I'm a compound bow junky and this project was my way of jumping into the deep end of the crossbow pool, so consider these the thoughts of somebody new to the sport.

Design

These two bows differ greatly in design. The Excalibur Micro Suppressor is a throwback with its recurve limbs, while the TenPoint Eclipse RCX is a compound crossbow. The recurve design tends to be a bit lighter overall and has fewer parts, so there are fewer things that can go wrong. You can also change out your string in the field if need be with Excalibur's stringing aid. The compound design offers up much lighter draw weights, more speed and a narrower profile.

Specs

The Micro Suppressor has an uncocked width of 25 inches, cocked width of 21 inches, length of 31 inches, power stroke of 10.2 inches, draw weight of 280 pounds and speeds up to 355 fps. The package includes three 16.5-inch bolts, quiver, and Tact-Zone illuminated scope with 30mm rings, ambidextrous cheek piece and rope cocking aid. Retail price for this package is $1,299.

The Eclipse RCX has an uncocked width of 17 inches, cocked width of 13.5 inches, length of 34 ¾ inches, power stroke of 14 inches, draw weight of 140 pounds and speeds up to 370 feet per second. The package includes three Pro Elite Easton bolts, 3X Pro-View 2 scope, ACUdraw 50 cocking mechanism and three-arrow quiver. Retail price for this package is $1,199.

Speed