Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all, long time reader, first time poster here. I have been shooting a ten point (305 fps) for many years, with NAP Thunderhead 100 gr fixed blades. Same weight and accuracy as field tips. Last year I clean missed a deer at a dead easy 40 yards from a rest (bolt dropped significantly) for no reason. Checked the scope, used same bolt, field tips fly perfectly at 20,30,40, but Thunderheads have started flying 3" low at 30 yd, 6" low at 40. Switched to NAP Spitfire 3 blade mechanical, same issue. Switched to NAP ******* fixed blades - no fix. Figured I have lost speed over 8 years, so I replaced the string - no love. Got new bolts - still no joy.

So I am frustrated and out of ideas: both flew consistently for years; however, now field tips fly consistent with my reticles all yards but 3 different broadheads, all same weight as field tips, both fixed and mechanical, are dropping significantly.

So I figured I'd turn to the pros, from whom I've learned so much over the years. I know this is probably the the oldest problem in the book, so there must be an answer by now. Can anyone help with what's going on here? Or in the absence of that, can anyone recommend a broadhead that flies same as field tips - with some proof? I'm considering upgrading to faster bow (400 fps), but don't want the same issue with new bow. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Have you put your field tips and broad heads on a scale to verify they are the same weight? Just to make sure you aren't shooting lighter field points. Thats the only thing I can think of that would cause that since you've replaced everything else. I did just get in a pack of Thorn HPX broad heads. Going to site them this weekend but from the way they look they should fly very close to field tips.

·
Registered
160 Posts