Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As stated in an earlier discussion, I’m new to deer hunting, including crossbow and rifle. As an older hunter (71), with a hip replacement, I’m not interested in sitting in a tree stand and potentially falling that might require a trip to surgery and a difficult hip revision. So, I bought a portable ground blind in hopes of being safe and getting lucky this, my second hunting season. What I need to know is, when should I set up my blind on my private property. The season here in Wisconsin starts September 12 this year. Right now I’m looking at setting it up a week ahead of the start of the season since I’ll be gone until then. Will this work? I plan to blend it in with its surroundings but need to know if I’m jeopardizing my success by placing it so close to the season opening when I plan to start hunting. Thanks.

·
Registered
47 Posts
It'll be okay....the sooner the better. Set it up at home and open the shooting windows and let it air out for a couple of days before taking it to your spot. Those things pack a little manufacturing stink when you open them up first time.

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
The sooner you can put it
out, it gives the wildlife time to get used to seeing it. Brush it in some as best you can.
Blinds are nice to have, especially in crappy weather.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Won’t hurt at all to put it out a week before. I’ve sat them out same day and blended them in with no issue at all. Even easier if you know your deers travel patterns and can place it in an area where when they do see it, well it’s too late.

·
Registered
5,376 Posts
Get any new blind out in the air now and let the new smell clear out if possible. I'd also spray the heck out of it inside and out with a scent treatment. When you do place it make sure you stake it down well. The stakes you blind comes with may be a little wimpy so make your own or buy some big tent stakes.