Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
938 Posts
I always make sure my broadhead and shaft are in perfect alignment. Sometimes it's the broadhead thats causing the issue, and sometimes it's the face of the insert thats the issue. I use a combination of a G5 alignment tool and the technique shown in the video.

Sent from my SM-T860 using Tapatalk

·
2,906 Posts
I use a spinner. I don’t (unless nothing else works), try to bend the broadhead to straighten it. I check every arrow/head combo and they must repeatedly hit the poa before they get a ride in the quiver.

·
Registered
938 Posts
This is just me, but I think that putting pressure on the broadhead as shown in the video is helping the alignment of the threads in the insert as opposed to bending the broadhead. I would like to think that it takes a lot more pressure to actually bend a BH.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
146 Posts
So I'm going to be totally honest since this is my first year using a crossbow and really getting into broadhead tuning but lets say your arrow doesn't spin true when you have the broadhead on, do you literally just try to put a little pressure on the head to get it right or is there a more defined plan you take? I really don't get how you have an arrow that doesn't spin true with a broadhead on and then you fix it?

·
1,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
You do not use a whole lot of pressure, I would call it moderate. There is no way to bend most broadheads. All that you are doing is shifting the seating area against the face of the front insert.
Broadhead alignment will bring your groups in as well as get your broadhead point of impact closer to your field points, some will be right on the money. This is a very much overlooked concept.

Reactions: samt

·
Registered
938 Posts
... shifting the seating area against the face of the front insert.

Better put than my ... "alignment of threads inside the insert".