Crossbow Nation banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
Scorpyd Orion Ravin R9
728 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using the same buck knife with a gut hook for the last 7-8 years, and it has been a great knife over that span of years. It just doesn't seem to retain its sharpness as well after I sharpen it these days (like a chain for a chainsaw, it doesn't seem to keep its sharp cutting ability as long as it once did). That being said, what do you guys recommend as a replacement? I would definitely want a knife with a gut hook (very convenient). I am certainly not opposed to another Buck knife, but don't know if there are even better knives out there. Thanks in advance for any advice.

·
Registered
697 Posts
This one from Tim Olt over in Michigan. S35VN steel that sharpens up VERY toothy and is a cutting SOB. It stays sharp better than anything I have tried in the past, nothing seems to stain it. I have two of Tim's knives in S35VN, and both have done a fair amount of work for me . and I really like them.
Wood Gadget Hardwood Metal Tool

·
Registered
697 Posts
Beautiful knife!
I see a common denominator here… S35VN makes a great blade when properly executed.
What I have seen of S35VN leads me to believe if you properly heat treat it, and make something out of it that generally looks like a knife blade, Sharpen it and it will cut well. Proper heat treating and good blade design will give you an excellent cutting tool. The capability is in the steel. Don't suppress it by poor blade design, and heat treat it to take advantage of what it has and you can't go too far wrong. Choose your maker in no small part by who he chooses for his heat treater.

·
Registered
132 Posts