Crossbow Nation banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Barnett Whitetail Hunter STR
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to crossbows. I bought my barnett (375 fps) last year. This will be my first season to use it. I plan to use it all season if possible. I will be using it on whitetail only. All shots are within 40 yards.

What broadheads do you like for whitetail? I planned to use grim reapers but I can’t sharpen them. I prefer my heads to be really sharp before using them.
I thought of trying a 3 blade fixed head for easy sharpening but I feel like I’m wasting potential with a small head. The crossbow has enough energy to get a pass through with a larger head.

Does anyone know an easy way to sharpen grim reapers? I feel like that would be the perfect solution. I’m terrible at sharpening. If not what is your favorite 3 blade fixed head that is easy to sharpen? Should I just shoot the reapers and not worry about sharpening them?

I just want to make sure I am as ethical as possible while getting the best cut possible. Pass throughs are my number one goal while achieving the biggest cut possible.

·
Registered
5,881 Posts
The sharper the arrow head, the better the penetration and the quicker the kill.
What ever type of broadhead you plan to use, sight the crossbow in with them.
Some fixed broadheads and some mechanicals will hit the same point of impact
as field points, but this is not a safe bet when hunting animals. One owes it to
the animal to provide an accurate, quick kill.

Larger broad heads, fixed or mechanical provide a larger entry and exit opening
resulting in a better blood trail which results in a quick death providing an accurate
shot was made in the kill zone.

Wishing you all the best.
Take care.

·
Registered
5,084 Posts