Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI folks , just purchased a new Ravin R20. Got tired of my SAS 390 aggressor blowing a limb ever other year so here I am. I've read though the entire sub-forum twice. Just looking for any tips to prolong the bow. I don't have a press yet and do understand that this is like owning a Ferrari (just cause you can afford the car dosent mean you can afford the maintenance ).I haven't shot it yet as I'm afraid I might mess something up or should have done something different. All input is absolutely welcomed. I'm still a newbie at crossbows and hunting in general so go easy. I do have a backup bow also but hopefully she can sit the next few seasons out. The R20 will be used quite a bit as our deer season runs from mid September to end of January and temp will range from 80 to -3. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Welcome wjlizard! Your season sounds like the ones I had in Ohio 40 years ago. After I got married in 1977, I moved up there in '78. Then moved back down here in '81. Jan and Fed are a little to cold for me. 😄

You'll find lots of great folks here. And some excellent advice by some great people.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Yah, that is almost parallel to where I was, in Ashland, OH. I rented a house on a centennial farm while there. Beautiful country. Big big deer!

That is also when I bought my first crossbow. It had metal limbs. And the bolts/arrows had glue on heads.

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
Hi Wjlizard,
Welcome to the Nation and hope you enjoy that R20.
If it's Ravin info. you're looking for, this is the place.
Ravin fanboys are rampant on here and as Texas Grown has said, a lot of good folks as well.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Buy a good target. I went to my supply store and picked up a xbow target that damaged my fletchings and needed the arrows to be pushed out from the back side, got myself a spyderweb a few days ago and the arrows are happier and so am I.