Crossbow Nation banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Vendor
1,573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is the Family Court System taking a toll on young hunters??

When I was a kid I had both parents. My dad would come home after work to scramble to get me and head out the door an into the woods. We would bow hunt in the early fall and freeze our hind ends off during Dec. gun season. My dad spent time with me on the off season helping me practice with my bow and I would talk his ear off countless nights about deer hunting.. We had a BETA VCR and a Bob Folkrod video was my go to version of play it 100times a day like kids watch Barney or Bob the Builder.

Today I am directly in the hunting industry by profession and being a single dad I am finding it hard to get my son in the woods at all, but a small number of days in a season that can span over 4 months.

These days that kids have this opportunity to grow up with their dad in hunting are fading away as we watch the number of hunters decline on what appears to be a national level, but why??? Is it really video games, is it really other things to do?

The sporting world of hunting seems to be a little wishy washy on why less people are hunting. Perhaps this is directly tied to family courts separating the time needed for a father to teach and spend time with his kid hunting and not to mention being able to afford to do the sport with his kid.

Some states like mine in NJ you have to fill out a form before they let you have your hunting license that asks whether or not you owe Child Support. If correct that means family court presents an issue for fathers. After all many dads after going through the Family court system end up with the latter part of a 70/30 or 80/20 split " in the best interest of the child " and subject to 65% of his gross pay to front for CS.

Could family courts be taking a toll on hunters by reducing the time with the father, I think so...

Data below..