Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a novice crossbow shooter. My question is, if you are in a shooting position seated with both your elbows touching your knees (to help steady), will that “recoil” effect they shot? (I’m wondering if it’s similar to when a gun barrel is in direct contact with a rest it throws the shot). Thx for any shooting form do’s or dont’s

·
Registered
824 Posts
No, I shoot the majority of times rested some way or another with no adverse impact. I've never heard of a rested rifle being thrown off target. I believe the cowboy is flinching prior to ignition.

·
Registered
13,323 Posts
Just squeeze while looking at the center of the crosshair. Continue squeezing until the bow goes off. Concentrate on the center of that crosshair the entire time. After the bow goes off the arrow should hit where you were aiming. If not....re-zero.;)

·
Registered
2,191 Posts
I shoot all my bows prior to season the exact same way as you described , as that is the way i hunt .
no problems here doing it !!!

·
8,994 Posts
Gun barrels … vibrate and have specific vibration patterns. It's called "barrel harmonics." ANYTHING that changes those harmonics will change bullet point of impact. Resting the barrel, (not the forearm of the stock) against something dampens/changes the harmonics. I was working with NWCOA shooters down in Virginia a few years ago and one guy had a weapon light clamped to his barrel. He was spraying bullets all over his targets. Told him to take it off; the rifle settled right in to being a shooter. The Browning Ballistic Optimizing Shooting System (BOSS) threads a micrometer onto the end of the rifle barrel so those harmonics can be precisely matched to the ammunition.

Crossbow "barrels" are actually just a 20" long arrow rest. They don't enclose the projectile, and there isn't much rail exposed to rest on something anyway.