Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm totally new to crossbows, but I want to use one for archery hunting in Wyoming. My priorities are accuracy and at least 400fps. I can spend around $1,000 but would much rather save some money if possible.

I can get a new Ravin R10 for around $1,100. Any suggestions on a setup that would be as accurate and fast, but less expensive? Thanks!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks robertyb for the suggestion. I'll look into that one.

Huntersthompson - I'm demonstrating my ignorance here, but I don't think I could give you an exact arrow weight for that speed. My main purpose is to use it for hunting elk and I know that a higher energy level would be better. Also, I'm guessing the faster the arrow, the less that the wind will affect shot placement. Wyoming can get awfully windy :(

·
Registered
2,891 Posts
I have never been lucky enough to hunt elk. 400-425 gn is what I use for whitetail. I am gonna quess heavier for elk. Heavier should be less affected by the wind. I am sure some of the elk hunters here will give you pointers.

·
4,775 Posts
The SWAT XP will shoot 405-415/400g arrow. My favorite arrows for this xbow are Spynal Tapps , 22”, Vanetec 3.15 in medium offset, 110g DT insert, epoxied KI AL inserts, 100g TruGlo 4 blade expandibles (100g Grizz Trick if needing fixed).
‘The extreme accuracy, small size, light weight, moderately high speed, cost, all seem to make this xbow an excellent choice for you.

·
9,022 Posts
Every crossbow … is just as "accurate" and in many case MORE accurate because there are issues with a railess crossbow that all the others don't suffer with. And most are a darn sight less expensive.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Hi guys, I'm totally new to crossbows, but I want to use one for archery hunting in Wyoming. My priorities are accuracy and at least 400fps. I can spend around $1,000 but would much rather save some money if possible.