Crossbow Nation banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
Wicked Ridge RDX400
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So now that i've sent about 50 arrows through my WR RDX400 i'm quickly realizing the very high level of precision that these current bows offer. I've been shooting 600 yd rifle precision for about 10 years so i'm acclimating to a precison crossbow very quickly. My gun club has bag targets from 20 out to a max of 60 yds and honestly i'm getting bored already at 60 yds. I'm shooting about 4" groups and i've only just started. My question is for thos of you with experience what is a realistic and challenging max distance for target bows with velocities from 380 to 400 fps ? Is 200 yds realiatic ?

·
1,132 Posts
So now that i've sent about 50 arrows through my WR RDX400 i'm quickly realizing the very high level of precision that these current bows offer. I've been shooting 600 yd rifle precision for about 10 years so i'm acclimating to a precison crossbow very quickly. My gun club has bag targets from 20 out to a max of 60 yds and honestly i'm getting bored already at 60 yds. I'm shooting about 4" groups and i've only just started. My question is for thos of you with experience what is a realistic and challenging max distance for target bows with velocities from 380 to 400 fps ? Is 200 yds realiatic ?
During tournament season I practice freehand at 80 daily, and at times out to 100.
So I would say 200 is very doable especially off a rest. It would really all come down t on what you decide is an acceptable size group.

Reactions: dynamo61

·
Registered
Wicked Ridge RDX400
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
During tournament season I practice freehand at 80 daily, and at times out to 100.
So I would say 200 is very doable especially off a rest. It would really all come down t on what you decide is an acceptable size group.