Crossbow Nation banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m relatively new to crossbows, my first one is a Barnett assault 245, does the job. I’ve been wanting to upgrade from the Halo scope it comes with but being so slow I’m not sure what would be the best (and affordable lol) scope for it. By the way I don’t want a red dot for it.
Can you guys shine a light?
thanks
Martin

·
Registered
2,677 Posts
I have a Horton (original company, not TenPoint) variable power, multi line scope that I had on my Vision 175. It wasn't a fast bow. It has 2 to 7 magnification. The scope was made by Hawke I believe. It should work for you. Let me know if you are interested.

Reactions: JOE PA

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
I have a bow (254 fps) which Carrie's an excal scope rated down to 280. I use the crosshair at 5 yard increments.
No problems.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have a bow (254 fps) which Carrie's an excal scope rated down to 280. I use the crosshair at 5 yard increments.
No problems.
I guess my question should’ve been, what’s the deal with speed rated scopes. I own a 10 point scope rated for 275 to 425. Could I use that one on my 245 fps crossbow and how do I zero it?
there’s other ones on Amazon (hawke I believe) rated for 250fps, would one of those be better?
thanks
Martin

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
250 scope is going to give you a 10 yard block. If that's how you want to go.
Myself, I would set the scope you have to match what you have and work with whatever differential it ends up being.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
My scope is a ten point RangeMaster Pro btw, so you’re saying I could use it on my 245 fps xbow?

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
My scope is a ten point RangeMaster Pro btw, so you’re saying I could use it on my 245 fps xbow?
I am saying that but others might pee on my opinion LOL
Speed adjustable scopes really are not. They are just adjustable to magnification.