Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been prepping for this bow season for the last three years. Scouting, trail cams, general observations, mineral sites, etc. I had the deer habits, territories, and locations all figured out and ready for this Fall. Even had my ground blind spot picked and ready to go. Then along comes Mother Nature and bops me back near square one. Back on 17 June we had a hellacious storm system roll through the farm here. No tornadoes, but straight line winds like I've never seen. It's been an extremely wet year so far, so the ground is saturated. The number of trees we lost is staggering. Big beautiful mature oaks, torn up by the roots, or snapped off half way down like they'd been hit with a bomb. Birch trees mowed down like tall grass. One of my most promising areas is now an impenetrable tangle. One of my trail cams was missed by less than a foot by a toppled oak. Now the deer have changed travel corridors and habits. At least it's early and I still have time to start over, but what a pain.
I haven't had much time to clear my own mess up yet. My neighbor is handicapped from a stroke and had the biggest elm tree I've ever seen ripped out of the ground, barely missing his house. My one day off last week I spent down there cutting and piling that monster for cleanup. Should be able to start reopening my path across the ridge to my tower stand with some help so I can get my tractor back there next week.

This one is almost 36" across at the base, and the exposed portion of the root ball is bigger than my truck.

Some of these trees quite literally exploded, leaving jagged trunks sticking up at various heights.

I built this 14' stand two years ago, but haven't even had a chance to use it yet.:( When I cut a path back through all the carnage for my loader tractor, we might be able to stand it up and put a new roof on it later this summer (I hope).

·
Registered
13,347 Posts