Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been doing this for the last 2 years as a way to get ready for hunting with my crossbow. I don't have a lot of people who I can shoot with so I play this game with myself: I shoot 5 shots off-hand from different yardages, 35yds, 15yds, 30yds, 20yds, and 25yds. Then I shoot those 5 again for a total of 10 shots per round. I have a bag target and I put a small stick in the target that I use as an aiming point. I usually shoot just 1 round per day but sometimes 2. In this game, anything within 4.5" of the stick is a killing shot (or a 9" diameter circle) and anything outside of that is a point (of course you want a zero score). I keep track of my score on a chart. The last 2 years I have used the same bolt for the entire 1,000 shots and then I used that same bolt to shoot a mule deer buck, both times the deer broke the bolt off after falling on it, but I guess 1001 shots is enough for 1 bolt. Shooting this many shots has really gotten me used to my crossbow and has given my a lot of confidence in my ability with it. Does anyone want to join me this year in the 1,000 shot challenge?

·
115 Posts
That would make one heck of a tournament curriculum.

Just think.

A one week long tournament with one round per shooter each day.

make it a series of circles radiating at 1 inch intervals out to the 9 inch main target circumference and add a quarter point for each radial from the center.

Low scoring contestant wins a prize.

·
42 Posts
Sort of like a postal match you mean Wally?

Sounds good to me. The 1000 shots is a good idea, easy to set up and must improve your aim no end.

One question though, what exactly is 'Shooting off hand'?

·
115 Posts
66606 said:
Sort of like a postal match you mean Wally?

Sounds good to me. The 1000 shots is a good idea, easy to set up and must improve your aim no end.

One question though, what exactly is 'Shooting off hand'?