Crossbow Nation banner
1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering using my Ravin R20 for turkey hunting this spring. I've always used a 12 gauge, but thought the crossbow might be a fun new challenge. I have 2 questions:
1) Will my Rage Hypodermics NC Crossbow braodheads work fine or is there something else that's recommended?

2) What ranges have people used this setup effectively for turkeys?

·
Registered
9,110 Posts
I turkey hunted with my R10 last spring - first time with a crossbow. I used the NAP Sptifire Gobbler Getter based on recommendations on here.

It has a blunt nose which is suppose to stay inside the bird upon impact instead of a pass thru. I also had some Ramcats in the quiver plus some Montec G5 heads in the drawer. I’m just not a mechanical fan but I’ll still probably use the NAP this spring.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Has anyone tried a typical fixed blade for turkeys and other than passing through and likely never finding the bolt any other disadvantages to using fixed blades? I'll be using a crossbow this spring as recent back surgery/fusion warrants less of a kick to my shoulder than the 12 ga would do.

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
I don't consider myself a turkey hunter but have killed a couple with my crossbow while deer hunting. It didn't seem very difficult or challenging and if I ever were to hunt spring birds, I would definitely use a crossbow. One bit of advice that was useful to me is to study the anatomy of the bird. The kill zone for an arrow is not exactly where you would expect when broadside. Unless you plan on making headshots, which is the best target. Only problem with that is they never seem to stop moving their heads.

·
Registered
934 Posts