Crossbow Nation banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you guys reuse your bolts after putting them thru and animal and 6 inches into the dirt behind it? I’m using the the evo x center punch bolts. Launching them through the nitro XRT. The bolts look fine and don’t seem to damaged at all. But I’m not an expert and I’m worried about what I can’t see. Like, what if the the bolt shatters on the rail, simulates a dry fire and blows the bow up.. is it worth it to even try? I haven’t reused any of the 3 bolts I took deer with this year. And they ain’t cheap. Any thoughts fellas?

·
Registered
Excalibur Vortex 330, Centerpoint Sniper 370, Centerpoint Patriot 425
16,877 Posts
If I felt as uneasy as you do about it then I wouldn't reuse them. I'm only shooting @ 350 fps out of my bow. I wash, inspect, and reuse my arrows as long as they look good. At first I didn't, but the vase got full and I didn't have anywhere else to save my "trophies" so I started reusing what I could and throwing away what I couldn't. I have killed 3 and 4 deer with the same arrow some times. Other times they are damaged first time.

Reactions: leroy.brotzman

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, then I’m thinking my guy is right. And if and when I do have a vase full of bolts that connected, by then I’ll hopefully have the wisdom to know what to fly and what to toss. As of now, I’m super pumped having 3 blood smeared bolts sitting on my work bench in my basement. 2 muzzys, one rage. One hell of a year

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·