Crossbow Nation banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’m brand new to hunting and hope to harvest a deer this year. I’ve been researching for months, and now I need to figure out what to do if I am fortunate enough to get a deer, but it is at sunset. During bow season the processors will be closed by the time I would get everything ready.

My plan is to take it to a processor in the morning, so I only plan on field dressing and storing cold overnight. I know some people use the very large coolers, but they talk about bone in and bone out storage of whitetail or bigger deer.

I am wondering about storing a 150-175 pound whitetail that has only been field dressed (maybe remove lower legs). Is there any problem with storing overnight in a cooler in this state? And what size cooler would I need for this? For quartered etc it seems 65-100 qt is plenty big. Coleman has moderately priced 100 and 150 qt coolers I can fit on a hitch carrier basket on my 4Runner. I was hoping I could just stuff a field dressed deer with lots of frozen gallon water jugs and be good till the morning. Thanks for the info!

·
Registered
236 Posts
Can you not process the deer yourself. I watched the bearded butchers on YouTube and when I harvest a deer here in Scotland I process it myself it is really easy to do watch there videos and you will pick it up no problem just take your time and pause the video till you complete each part. All deer have the same structure you could watch a guy called Scott Rea on YouTube too. He butchers roe deer they are just smaller but he is good too and you will save yourself a few pounds/Dollars

·
Registered
72 Posts